Puberty 2 by Mitski

– Hanan

Discovering Mitski was one of the best things that happened to me last summer. She’s lulled me to sleep during several of my early morning hour-long commutes to Uni and it’s even lovelier to wake up to her, especially to her brilliant fourth album Puberty 2. (Not that it’s sleep music – I’d fall asleep to anything in the morning, even Children of Bodom. Can I call it my superpower?)

       Puberty 2 is a fitting title because it revolves around the second coming of puberty; a first, second maybe even a third foray into adulthood and still not being quite ready to leave all the adolescent angst behind, is a terribly relatable feeling. It’s about realizing the fleeting nature of happiness which is cleverly sung about in the album’s first track “Happy”, where a lover is used as a metaphor – he comes over with cookies, then comes inside her, and leaves while she’s still in the bathroom (how rude!)

It is also about pursuing happiness in the smallest of things, such as wearing your favourite outfit, a white button-down in Mitski’s case, as she says in “A Burning Hill”. “My Body is Made of Crushed Little Stars” is another one of my favourite tracks off this album which is about wanderlust, paying rent, not having enough money for either, existentialism; basically a homage to the classic notion of adulthood with really satisfying dissonant guitar riffs as a backdrop (personally, I only relate to the wanderlust bit, which gets very palpable sometimes. Also shout-out to Indian parents for letting us live in our own rooms instead of the basement, and mine for still paying for, well, most of everything.)

Besides being one of my all-time favourite albums, Puberty 2 is also the perfect soundtrack for my current phase in life. Her sound, to speak of it broadly, may be classified as indie rock/pop, but to put her in such a box would be a disservice to her. It spoke to me in a way little else does, and that to me, seems to be the purpose of music,

Puberty 2 by Mitski

Leave a Reply

